Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_nyc/wp-settings.php on line 520 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_nyc/wp-settings.php on line 535 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_nyc/wp-settings.php on line 542 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_nyc/wp-settings.php on line 578 Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /web/140conf_2010_nyc/wp-settings.php on line 18 Schedule « 140 Character Conference

Schedule

Day 0 - 04/19/2010 | Day 1 - 04/20/2010 | Day 2 - 04/21/2010 Print
Last updated on 04/25/2010
8:00am
Doors Opens



8:45am
Welcome to #140conf NYC
Watch This

Participants:
Caressa Cameron (@MAOTravels) - Miss America 2010
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - creator, #140conf

8:50am
The State of NOW: Update
Watch This

Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - Creator, #140conf

9:00am
Hello New York!
Watch This

Participants:
Dave Winer (@davewiner) - Software developer, Entrepreneur, Writer and NYU scholar

9:10am
The Self-Informing Public
Watch This

Participants:
Jay Rosen (@jayrosen_nyu) - " I teach journalism at NYU, direct the Studio 20 program there, critique the press and try to grok new media."

9:20am
Evolution of the Realtime Web
Watch This

Participants:
John Borthwick (@JohnBorthwick) - CEO of betaworks

9:30am
Evolution of Location and Places
Watch This

Participants:
Dan Harple (@dharple) - Executive Chairman, GyPSii

9:45am
Real-Time News Gathering
Watch This

Participants:
Andy Carvin (@acarvin) - Senior strategist at NPR
Eric Kuhn (@CNN) - Audience Interaction Producer, CNN
Jennifer Preston (@NYT_JenPreston) - Social-Media Editor of The New York Times
Ryan Osborn (@todayshow) - Producer, NBC's TODAY

10:05am
Social Media + Education
Watch This

Participants:
Chris Lehmann (@chrislehmann) - Principal of the Science Leadership Academy

10:15am
Fixing America's Voting System, One Tweet At A Time
Watch This

Participants:
Debra Bowen (@DBowen) - Secretary of State, California
Jacob Soboroff (@jacobsoboroff) - @AMCnews Correspondent and Executive Director of @WhyTuesday, a nonpartisan election reform group
Joe Trippi (@JoeTrippi) - @WhyTuesday advisory board member and has used Twitter to track and encourage participation in election reform from the United States to Zimbabwe.
Nancy Scola (@nancyscola) - associate editor at @techPresident and inspired the Twitter Vote Report with a blog post
Steve Grove (@grove) - Head of News and Politics at YouTube

10:35am
The Story Behind @TheKotel
Watch This

Participants:
Alon Nir (@TheKotel) - founder, @TheKotel

10:45am
Real Men (and Women) Use Twitter
Watch This

Participants:
Jeffrey Hayzlett (@JeffreyHayzlett) - CMO, Kodak

11:00am
Donny Deutsch (@Donny_Deutsch) - Television Host & Chairman, Deutsch Inc.
Watch This


11:10am
Ivanka Trump (@IvankaTrump) - EVP of Development and Acquisitions, The Trump Oganization/ President of Ivanka Trump Fine Jewelry
Watch This


11:20am
Twitter & The Death Of Rock Criticism II: Music Is Math
Watch This

Participants:
Chris Weingarten (@1000TimesYes) - Last Rock Critic Standing

11:30am
Principals of Effective Relationships - in love and in social media
Watch This

Participants:
AndreaSyrtash (@AndreaSyrtash) - Author of 'He's Just Not Your Type (And That's a Good Thing)

11:40am
Interacting with the television audience in Real Time
Watch This

Participants:
Gavin Purcell (@gavinpurcell) - Producer, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon
Rick Borutta (@CBSborutta) - Producer, CBS Backstage LIVE
Steve Garfield (@stevegarfield) - Author, Get Seen: Online Video Secrets to Building Your Business (Moderator)

11:55am
@SU2C: Using Technology to Power Innovative Partnerships
Watch This

Participants:
Bedonna Smith (@bravomadre) - Producer
Natalie Lent (@natalielent) - Director, Emerging Platforms, ID PR

12:05pm
Finding Common Ground: Discussion of issues of race and politics in 140 Characters
Watch This

Participants:
Blair Kelley (@profblmkelley) - Professor at North Carolina State University
Elon James White (@elonjames) - Comedian and Social Critic
Joan Walsh (@joanwalsh) - Editor in Chief, Salon
Liza Sabater (@blogdiva) - Publisher of Culturekitchen & DailyGotham

12:25pm
15 Minutes with Ann Curry
Watch This

Participants:
Ann Curry (@AnnCurry) - News Anchor on NBC's Today Show and host of Dateline NBC

12:40pm
The evolution of Emergency Communications in the era of the Real-time Net
Watch This

Participants:
Ann Curry (@AnnCurry) - News Anchor on NBC's Today Show and host of Dateline NBC
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, #140conf (moderator)
Lt. Aliza Landes (@IDFSpokesperson) - Lt. Head of the New Media Desk, Foreign Press Branch IDF Spokesperson's Unit
Luke Renner (@firesideint) - Founder & President, Fireside International
Major David Faggard (@usairforce) - Secretary of the Air Force, Office of Public Affairs
Nate Erickson (@NateErickson) - Activist and Co-Founder of iRelief

1:05pm
Intermission



1:20pm
World Premiere: Everybody Tweet Video
Watch This

Participants:
LynnRose (@LynnRose) - International Singer/Speaker and TV & Radio Host

1:25pm
Special Music Performance
(inside the schmooze lounge)

Participants:
Matthew Ebel (@matthewebel) - Singer / Songwriter

2:00pm
140 Q and A
Watch This

Participants:
Gary Vaynerchuk (@garyvee) - Host of Wine Library TV, Author

2:10pm
Why Twitter will Endure
Watch This

Participants:
David Carr (@carr2n) - Writes Media Equation column, blogs @ Decoder & covers pop culture at NY Times

2:20pm
twitter and the Fashion Indusry
Watch This

Participants:
Alexis Maybank (@giltfounder) - Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Gilt Groupe
Bronwyn Barnes (@InStyle) - Associate Entertainment Editor for InStyle.com:
Deirdre Sullivan (@GrittyPrettyPR) - Principal / Social Media
Kimberly Miller (@StyleWatchMag) - VP of Consumer Marketing, People StyleWatch
Meredith Fisher (@InsideDVF) - Digital Media Director, Diane von Furstenberg Studio

2:40pm
Why Madison Avenue Should Love Social Media - The Thoughts of a Mad Man Turned Twitterholic
Watch This

Participants:
Hank Wasiak (@hankwasiak) - Author, TV Host, Ad Guy - The Concept Farm

2:50pm
The Real-time web and Brands
Watch This

Participants:
Duncan Mitchell (@someecards) - CEO @sommeecards
Kaitlyn Wilkins (@CatchUpLady) - VP at 360 Digital Influence/Ogilvy
Leslie Berland (@AmericanExpress) - Vice President of Online Communications and Social Media, American Express
Marc Monseau (@JNJComm) - Director, Corporate Communication, Social Media, Johnson & Johnson
Ricky Engelberg (@rje7) - Global Digital Innovation Director, Nike

3:10pm
Real Time Communication and Education.
Watch This

Participants:
Aparna Vashisht (@Parentella) - Founder, Parentella (moderator)
Kevin Jarrett (@kjarrett) - K-4 Technology Teacher
Lisa Nielsen (@InnovativeEdu) - Educational Technologist - NYC Dept of Ed
Mary Beth Hertz (@mbteach) - K-6 Computer Teacher and Technology Teacher Leader in Philadelphia

3:30pm
Catching up with Jessica Gottlieb
Watch This

Participants:
Jessica Gottlieb (@JessicaGottlieb) - Wife, Mom, Blogger

3:40pm
Where Am I? How location changes everything
Watch This

Participants:
C.C. Chapman (@cc_chapman) - Campfire Creative Director, Photographer, Storyteller (moderator)
Dennis Crowley (@dens) - co-founder, FourSquare
Josh Williams (@jw) - Founder, CEO, Gowalla
Shane Lennon (@redshane) - SVP, GyPSii

4:00pm
Under the Influence: Connecting with Fans Real Time
Watch This

Participants:
Jeff Haley (@haleymedia) - President & CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau
Jonathan Daniel (@jdloveless) - Partner, Crush Management
Leslie Fram - co-host Morning Show, WRXP-FM 101.9, New York City
Matt Pinfield (@mattpinfield) - Morning show host on WRXP 101.9 FM in New York City

4:15pm
15 Minutes with MC Hammer (Interview)
Watch This

Participants:
Hammer (@MCHammer)
Ted Cohen (@spinaltap) - Managing Partner, TAG Stragegic

4:30pm
The real-time web and Music
Watch This

Participants:
Jim Jones (@jimjonescapo) - Artist
Leslie Hall (@dollyhall) - President, ICED Media (moderator)
Ryan Leslie (@ryanleslie) - Artist
Xavier Jernigan (@XavierJernigan) - Senior Director, Digital Marketing, Universal Motown

4:50pm
CMO Roundtable: How the real-time web is changing our approach to busines
Watch This

Participants:
jeffrey merrihue (@JeffreyMerrihue) - Chairman, MoFilm
Jonathan Mildenhall (@Mildenhall) - VP Global Advertising, Coca Cola
Linda Boland Abraham (@linda_abraham) - CMO, EVP Global Development, comScore
Ted Rubin (@tedrubin) - Chief Social Officer, OpenSky

5:10pm
How Social Media is Changing the Face of Golf
Watch This

Participants:
Dennis Allen (@dennis_allen) - Golf Industry Veteran
Kathleen Hessert (@kathleenhessert) - President, Sports Media Challenge
Ryan Ballengee (@waggleroom) - Blogger
Scott Gutterman (@PGATOUR_EP) - PGA Tour

5:30pm
The Evolution of NOW Media
Watch This

Participants:
Avner Ronen (@avneron) - CEO, co-founder, Boxee
Brad Hunstable (@bhunstable) - co-founder, Ustream.tv
David DeVore (@daviddentist) - Dad, David After Dentist

5:50pm
Coopitition on the Sunset Strip
Watch This

Participants:
Alf LaMont (@Alflamont) - The Comedy Story

6:00pm
Connecting
Watch This

Participants:
Cathy Brooks (@CathyBrooks) - Raconteur/Founder Other Than That

6:10pm
twitter and Comedy
Watch This

Participants:
Joe Randazzo (@Randazzoj) - Editor of The Onion
Lisa Cohen (@cohills) - Creator of WitStream
Michael Ian Black (@michaelianblack) - Comedian, Blogger
Michael Kupperman (@MKupperman) - Comedian, Blogger
Pat Kiernan (@patkiernan) - Anchor NY1 (moderator)

6:30pm
End of Day 1 Sessions



7:30pm
#140conf Conference Party





* schedule subject to change without notice